Lecture series: The British Hotel restoration challenge
Guest speaker Mike Clemann shared the background story and the history of the British Hotel, April 19 and 20. This was a public event with an information session on the history and the restoration of the British Hotel. It was held in collaboration with the Musée de l’Auberge Symmes and Association du Patrimoine. Owner Mike Clemann recognized the support of the Musée and the Association, as well as Richard Bégin, historian and councillor for Deschênes. Former owner Bernice Tchorewski also provided historical references during the renovations.
Mike Clemann recognized the history of the British Hotel and wanted to showcase its beauty. The session began on the 3rd floor, in the Conroy room, where visitors could see the original beams from 1834 construction highlighting this beautiful room. More than 40 people attended the event and some shared their stories; one of the attendees had a wedding reception in the Gold Room over 40 years ago.
Some of the hotel rooms were open for display and the 10 hotel rooms are named after people who were associated with the British or are named in their honour. Some of the names included the Prince of Wales, Yvette Ayotte and Tchorewski.
The event continued and then concluded in the gold room, where Sir John A. MacDonald would sit and drink with his colleagues. A brief video presentation of the making of the hotel as it now stands was running for visitors.